Look What YOU Did!

27 Feb

A March 22nd update.

So, after repeated spankings by strangers and friends, I am forced to admit something.

I am starting to like Faith.

It started out like most of my relationships. I said I wanted to be friends, but I was stand-offish, unable to commit to any sort of real give and take. She’d take my hand in the car; a nervous giggle would escape. And I’d tell my friends she was “lame” so they wouldn’t make fun of me.

I started thinking, “I wonder if she likes me?”

Then the outfits, the dressing for her, the convenient trips to the store when she was on air. My boyfriend liking her more than me, then me listening to all her podcasts, trying to figure out why, and realizing I liked her more. And more than that, she liked me. I could tell.

Fine. I like her. She’s smart and silly and she seems to have no trouble being herself on the radio.

I am keeping the post below to remind me of how the denial of feelings can really make you say clever things but ultimately you can’t deny the truth.

See you on the radio, baby.

Faith Salie


There was a time I was over at my friend C.’s house and her kid, a wee lad of somewhere under a year took a HUGE crap and as she was changing his 5 pound diaper she exclaimed, “Look What YOU Did!”

It was then that I knew we couldn’t be friends anymore. While everyone has of course taken a crap that gives you an odd sense of pride and accomplishment, we don’t applaud craps in others. Bodily functions shouldn’t be lauded unless having them constitutes a great triumph over an injury between L4 and L5.

So I naturally grimace when Faith “kind of a Matisse” Salie says it to her guests when they are witty, or funny. It is her positive reinforcement of the emo elite that has me on the fence regarding this NPR newbie. Ira Glass laughs when it is funny, and he has that charming way of reminding the guest how funny, and sad, and then sadly funny, everything is. Except of course when Sarah Vowell shows up. Nobody makes Sarah laugh except Sarah.

Look, I’m as happy as the next Grup when someone shows up who is as interested as I am in how the hell the lead singer of Silversun Pickups is a dude. But something about Faith makes me think we will never be friends. She’s gonna SAY she wants to go out and get margaritas and hit on guys who we will never take home because we are all in committed relationships and we are just doing it for the ego boost. But she’s secretly figuring out how to get her boyfriend to marry her, buy a townhouse in North Jersey and if she can name her kids Logan and Rory without anyone guessing she’s name checking a show on the CW.

I think I just can’t accept that anyone working for NPR/APM would have a french manicure. And I think she does. Call me old fashioned but NPR is for people like Nic Harcout who sounds like he should look like Ralph Fiennes but really looks like Joseph.

8 Responses to “Look What YOU Did!”

  1. max March 1, 2007 at 1:47 am #

    i started listenting to the show right around the beginning of the year. it took some warming up at first, but now i enjoy it most every night. most importantly – i don’t think i’ve ever heard faith say “look what you did”. Maybe it’s happened once or twice and i didn’t catch it, but i doubt it. do you actually listen, or did you just read she says that in an interview and feel like it was a great jumping off point for a blog? it’s a funny write up, but it’s not, you know, accurate at all.

  2. bethshax March 1, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    max, thanks for posting. i actually hadn’t heard it until somebody pointed it out (and maybe it was just a brief fling she had) but I did hear her say it a couple of times a broadcast. i am still withholding final judgement on faith (no pun intended) and i may end up liking her. right now i feel very allegiance for the old school. but who knows! you’re a good writer — if you have a blog please let me know where it is so i can link to it.

  3. Anonymous March 22, 2007 at 7:19 pm #

    Oh Beth… Are we really basing our listening preferences on the notion of “To French Tip Or Not To French Tip”? I’ve been listening to the show regularly and really enjoy it and am very glad to have it out there. I watch the 1-2 punch of Stewart/Colbert every night and this makes a nice addition to the team. Faith brings another color to the mosaic of outrage that our comedic news-bearers offer and I, for one, welcome her to the table. I believe strongly that we need to encourage NPR and PRI to attempt new things and that this show, while playing to the finest traditions of The Public Airwaves (smart, eclectic, interesting, entertaining) brings a new and much needed take to their programming. Frankly, I’m a little tired of all the old white guys (or the women who sound like them) even though I am very glad they are there. I love that the smart and the funny (of which she has bounteous supply of both) are welcome on Fair Game cause if we don’t laugh at some of this stuff, I’m gonna cry.

    Full disclosure- I know and respect both of you ladies immensely, so I am biased in my opinions. That said, I feel I can state with certainty that Faith is not going to name her children either Rory or Logan, not buy a townhouse in Jersey, and would LOVE to go out and have a margarita with you and that you two would get along famously. As to French Tips, I cannot say as that would imply that I know exactly what those are and I haven’t a clue. I do know that I don’t care, as it has nothing to do with how great and refreshing she sounds to me every time I tune in her show.

  4. Anonymous March 22, 2007 at 7:22 pm #

    PS- surely she gets some Grup Cred for having appeared on Star Trek: Deep Space Nine twice, no?

  5. bethshax March 22, 2007 at 7:31 pm #

    Faith was redeemed (and I retracted) here: http://bethblogs.wordpress.com/2007/03/03/faith-in-my-readers/

    PS, the fact that you know her makes me like her more.

  6. berserker duckling March 28, 2007 at 1:12 am #

    Phony fake-giggling elitist hag. Calculating mean girl pretending to be emo to get approval. Highly intelligent, quick, social and empty.

  7. bethshax March 28, 2007 at 6:25 am #

    I don’t agree with berserker duckling but i feel like i have to approve all comments unless they are clearly trolls or clearly spam. Until someone threatens someone else and then your ass will be banned. xoxo b.

  8. eightoclockhater May 17, 2007 at 12:53 am #

    As a constant WNYC listener, Faith Salie drives me nuts every night. I have to agree with Berkerker Duckling. To me she sounds insipid and insincere; the fact that she has smart/geek/whatever cred makes her girly/giggly presentation even more insulting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

