How Bad Is It (on International Women’s Day)

9 Mar

Bad.

So bad that I don’t know how to encourage women to come to Los Angeles to become directors. People look past you to see if the man behind you is the director. You lose jobs to men because studios truly believe you aren’t able to relate to male stories.

I knew it would be hard, but I didn’t understand how much of a ghetto women are put in professionally as directors. You can direct your own film as long as it is indie (see: Jamie Babbit, Lisa Cholodenko, Nicole Holofcener) or you can direct female driven movies as long as they are romantic (Nora/Delia Ephron; Nancy Meyers; Susannah Grant.) Mimi Leder went to television, Catherine Hardwicke got 30 million to direct Nativity and it bombed in the absence of any other original female studio films, giving ample credence to the “women make it suck” idea in this town.

I don’t want it to be easy but I want it to be fair. I want my talent and my gender to be considered assets. Not qualifiers.

And I don’t know if I have the ability to change any of it.

It sucks. And the more we get ghetto-ized the harder it becomes to see any reason to fight the system. This is a system that worships the women they destroy (Britney and Ana Nicole.)

Leave a Reply

