As Promised

9 Nov

Johnny Chan (though I doubt it is his real name, just a random WSOP shout out, most likely) has posted his critique of the script here. When I don’t like something, like say brussels sprouts or Survivor: China, I simply walk away. Johnny Chan has decided to take a different approach , thoroughly reading and critiquing the script and the film.

I had zero internal debate about approving the comment and here’s why. You can love the movie or hate the movie. It doesn’t change the movie. I get to move on and make more movies. There is something incredibly liberating about knowing that no matter what you do, some people will hate it.

I do want to make one thing clear. Nepotism didn’t get the movie made. My parents are research scientists. My sister is a social worker. The script and the cast got the movie made. And I don’t dismiss negative critiques. Actually I read them. All of them. I don’t love everything about the movie. It is flawed. We made it under crazy circumstances in 19 days. I would do a million things differently.

And Johnny, if you are still out there reading, as I suspect you are, feel free to email me your script as I would be happy to offer my insights as you have so generously shared yours. I’m not being sarcastic, it is only fair that you get the same respect that you showed me. And with the strike going on I have some free time.

Either way, good luck in all you do, Johnny Chan. Or whomever you are.

One Response to “As Promised”

  1. z. November 9, 2007 at 2:06 am #

    Hmm. A’ight then. Sounds less like a critique and more like someone with an axe to grind or sour grapes. It’s one thing to not like something and offer a critique. it’s another to attack the person behind the work, which is what “Mr. Chan” has done. In your personal space, no less.

    Yep, good luck to you, Johnny.

Leave a Reply

