When Social Networking Goes Doppelganger

21 Mar

On my Facebook page I have a friend, Stephanie and we regularly communicate through Wall-Posts.  Very high school, study hall, write in each other’s notebook kind of way to communicate but I like it.  It is cute.

So I’m looking to see what exactly I said to her last time we W2W and I notice someone asks her if she is going to “Beth and Ben’s” party.

Cause Stephanie is friends with another Beth.  Who is married to another Ben.  That Ben is friends with another Pilar.

In other words my life has a mirror.  A random mirror of other people with our names, having other lives.  And yes, I recognize that Ben and Beth are not uncommon names, and that while Pilar IS an uncommon name, it isn’t so random.  Except that I lived a perfectly fine life not knowing about these people.  Not thinking about how trite, how utterly common I really am.

Now I know, and I don’t like it.

3 Responses to “When Social Networking Goes Doppelganger”

  1. z. March 21, 2008 at 2:39 pm #

    So I guess I shouldn’t mention that a good friend of mine from college named Beth used to be married to a guy named Ben? And that’s why when you guys started dating and Sara would mention you, I’d always get a little confused? That’s where my mirror ends though, since I don’t know a Stephanie or Pilar. 😛

  2. sara March 22, 2008 at 12:37 am #

    z- but you know a stephane and you knew a pickles. exactly the same thing…

  3. z. March 23, 2008 at 5:05 am #

    Heh. So true!!!

Leave a Reply

