It’s Echo Park

28 Mar

I mean, it just is.  Went today to visit Show Pony, Kim Buzzelli’s store in Echo Park that always has local designers who handmake their clothes and then keep the best stuff to wear (don’t think I don’t see you wearing the good stuff… I see) which is closing so Kim can go make art and stop tending to the store like the overgrown child it has become.  Walked by the 1/10th constructed condos on Echo Park Avenue, abandoned by their developer until the money starts flowing again.  Heard about the hold up (at gunpoint) at the new cheap food store next to Walmart.  Ate some great fruit from one of those fruit guys who douse it in something and cayenne pepper (I honestly don’t know… it tastes good.)

And it is just… Echo Park.  The good, the bad, the gangs, the presidential helicopters parking in Dodger Stadium parking lot, the Two Boots pizzeria, Taco Zone and El Prado, gunshots that may or may not be a movie set, a definite movie set…

I know I should crave something new, and safe, and easy and yet this is home.  I can’t explain it, I can’t tell you when it happened, but the idea of leaving this community is unthinkable.  Ruth at The Park emails to tell everyone the fall/winter menu is going away this weekend and I feel an urgent need to go check it out.  Derby this weekend around the corner.  It is hard to explain, hard to quantify, hard to justify to my midwestern suburban self.  I should want and know better.

But I don’t.  I like it here.

2 Responses to “It’s Echo Park”

  1. Jenny April 2, 2009 at 3:24 am #

    Good, then don’t go anywhere. I want to come back and visit again. And go shopping. Fruit will be good, too.

    • bethshax April 2, 2009 at 4:33 am #

      You’re on and you have a bed waiting!

Leave a Reply

