Eddie Izzard’s BELIEVE

1 Oct

I first saw Eddie Izzard at the Gilded Balloon at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival in 95… we had a crazy political jazz play upstairs and he was killing it in the “big room” downstairs.  I was traveling with the only black people at the Fringe, and somehow this got us some drinks with Eddie after a set. I remember none of it, only putting it together when I saw his show on HBO one night.  And then, then I was a complete convert.

This year we saw him work on material late one night in Hollywood.  Three hours of non-stop, erudite gutter humor including a long thing entirely in Latin.  He’s beyond anything I’ve ever experienced.   Go see this.  Do it now.

One Response to “Eddie Izzard’s BELIEVE”

  1. Carole Strehlow October 12, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    I just saw Believe in West Hollywood on Friday and sat in a daze as Eddie proceeded to stand right in front of me and answer questions from the audience for a good 40 minutes. Time seemed to stand still!
    I was inspired by the autobiographical movie and can’t wait to see him in London @ Wembley Statium with a bazillion of my closest friends on Dec. 5.

    Well done, Eddie!

Leave a Reply

