2010 in 2010

1 Nov

I am, at best, a casual runner.  Maybe three times a week, when I’m feeling in shape.  Maybe five miles each run.  So my average year if I’m being really, really generous is around 780 miles.  If I run three times a week.  And I never, oh, tell myself I need a day or three off and maybe go to the gym or maybe take a hike instead.

I’m out today, desperately trying to get through 3.5 miles because I’m out of shape and tired and Harry wants to chase motorcycles and air molecules.  And I am thinking about a goal.  A goal I can do that isn’t a race or something.

2010 miles in 2010.

It comes out to 39 miles per week.

Or 6.5 miles a day with one day off.

Now, let’s be honest.  2010 kilometers would make way more sense.  And I’m tempted.  It would work out to 24 miles a week.  I can do 4 miles a day, 6 days a week.

But somehow it feels like cheating.  39 miles per week.  If I did 40 per week I could take entire weeks off of running in case of injury.

So I’m doing it.  I’ll take from November 1 to January 1 to work up to it.  If I’m getting thru 3.5 a day now, I’ll start adding a mile at a time, until the mileage gets to where it needs to be.  It comes out to 3 times around the reservoir.  I have no idea what it is on our trails, but I’m guessing the trails come out to about five miles, so maybe two runs a day?  Anyone ever do this?

I figure, if I’m on target and getting miles in, maybe I’ll end the year with some sort of race or something.  And then I plan on never ever running again.  Kidding.  Maybe.  Sort of.

I’ll use the Nike iPod thing to log my miles, so I can’t cheat, and I will post them weekly I guess, in case anyone cares/wants to mock.  I think I know how to do that.  I have two months to figure it out.

Oh and something I just found out.  According to Runners World, if I was training for a 1/2 marathon I would have this mileage:

1/2 MARATHON
RUNNER: Elite
MILES/WEEK: 100-110
RUNNER: Mortal
MILES/WEEK: 30-40

So 40 per week for 51 weeks.  That isn’t like… totally insane.  Right?  Right?

Anyone else want to do this?  Hello?

 

(gulp)

3 Responses to “2010 in 2010”

  1. Karen November 1, 2009 at 1:17 am #

    You can do it. You are a determined woman and I believe if you put your mind to it, it will happen. I support your endeavor. Though not a runner, I intend to do yoga 6 days a week. You run, I do yoga, we can be co-dependent and make this happen in 2010.

  2. Tom November 19, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    Hi Beth,

    I just got back from a run having not been out for a few weeks thanks to a cold and working overseas. Like you, I was thinking about a meaningful goal for next year, and came up with “2010 in 2010”. I just got back and googled it to find your blog. I think I’m going to wimp out and opt for 2010 km, since I’ve got some triathlons lined up so can’t just do running, but I wish you the best of luck with your challenge.

    • bethshax November 19, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

      Tom, if I don’t check out at the doctor next week I think 2010 km is my goal too. Even my trainer thought 2010 miles was a little insane.

      If you wanna keep me updated after the 1st of the year I’ll publish your results on the blog!

      -Beth

Leave a Reply

