Quitting Facebook

1 Jun

I just deactivated my account.

I’m giving myself a month, Facebook free.  Why?  A bunch of reasons.  It’s very public, it has no privacy and it is very time-consuming are the big three.  But also I get the sense that the Facebook party may be winding down and I like to leave a party before it ends.  Social networking is great and Twitter is perfect for me.  I can post pictures on Flickr.  I can post rambling, profanity laced missives on my blog.  I do not need to share every detail of my life with 400 friends.  I do not need to have 400 friends to prove things to.  I do not need to play Scrabble day in and day out to prove I have a good vocabulary.

In theory.

Of course in reality I may just be the needy, horrible person who needs to see every picture my sister posts on-line of my nephew.  I may need to follow everything everyone does on Facebook.  What about the first pre-sale for a show I miss?  What about that great video every sees before me?

Can I deal with potentially slightly behind the curve?  Will Twitter and a blog and Geekweek be enough?

I hope so.

2 Responses to “Quitting Facebook”

  1. Matt June 1, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Nice. I was going to quit today but @novembercamel hates Twitter and I loves me some him, welp. Trying to convince
    him ASAP. Good luck!

  2. sara June 1, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I was going to ask what about all the pics I post of your nephew? Well, I go back to work tomorrow and don’t have Facebook there, so selfishly I approve of your hiatus. I will use my Flckr account and post pics.

    But I will say, and not to be biased or anything, that I like your Facebook mini-ramblings. Also, I don’t use Twitter.

Leave a Reply

